Bringing people together to find a Parkinson’s cure

Charitymiles.org
Charitymiles.org

Oh man, I’ve drank the Kool-Aid.

It stared last week when I was talking to my dad about raising money for Parkinson’s research. I made a comment about how I wanted to raise a certain amount, but wasn’t sure I could make it. In the same breath, I went on to say, but it’s OK because it’s $XX they didn’t have for research without it.

Yep. The Kool-Aid. Heeeeeey.

As you may or may not have read, Emily and I will be participating in the April Parkinson’s Unity Walk with our friend John Ryan and Team Ryan’s Hope. I set my goal at $1,000. And I really hope to make it.

Unitywalk.org
Unitywalk.org

That said, I spend a lot of time blogging or promoting Dad’s blogs as part of PCRF Inc. and our family’s desire to spread the word and find a cure. I often find myself sitting on the outside of all the great things happening in fundraising and research and just staying informed.

Through my Tweeting about the Unity Walk and at John Ryan about raising money, I had an idea.

You may remember Charity Miles — the free smartphone app that you use while you walk/run/bike and it raises money per mile you do. And that money can go to a charity (like the Michael J Fox Foundation).

What if everyone participating in the Unity Walk this April who have smartphones used Charity Miles for the 1.4 mile walk? Last year, more than 10,000 people participated in the walk, and at 25 cents a mile… that’s a lot of money.

Even if not everyone does it, it’s money that wasn’t there before. And it’s basically free money we don’t have to ask our friends and family for in sponsoring us for the walk.

So I tweeted at the Unity Walk and Charity Miles, and heard today they might start talking. Who knows what’ll happen, but the ball is rolling.

I found myself responding to John Ryan today on Twitter saying “Bringing people together to find a Parkinson’s cure. That’s what we do.”

Yes, yes, I know it’s hokey. But we can’t do it alone. Only together will we find a cure.

Mmm Kool-Aid. Maybe it’s not such a bad thing.

Want to get involved? Check out my fundraising page, and Emily’s.

Leave a Reply

