A blind hog will find an acorn every once and awhile

That's right. A hole in one.
That’s right. A hole in one.

So you probably have heard that I got my first hole in one.

As a background note, I really only started playing golf on a regular basis in late 2006, AFTER I HAD BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH PARKINSON’S. If you are a golfer, pick your favorite pro’s swing and imagine him or her on amphetamines, moving all over the place. Keep my eyes on the ball? Hell, I’m too busy thinking of what a pretty day it is, and what we are having for dinner. So, we have established I am a hacker.

Every time I (and all other golfers) stand on the tee of a par 3, we believe we can hit the perfect shot that will go in the hole. We all know it is a matter of luck, but we believe that we can do it.

Now, let me set the scene.

I was playing with two friends and I was having a dreadful round of golf. I was thinking about quitting and going home, but there was money on the line ($3), and I would hurt the team (like I was really helping). We arrived at the hole, which is an uphill green; 114 yards with a hurting right to left 15 mph wind.

It’s my turn, and like every time before I go through my routine — which includes visualizing the ball going in the hole. Immediately after my swing, one of the guys, sincerely comments “nice swing” (something I never hear). I replied “thanks” and turned to look for my ball. By this time the ball is halfway to the green going “straight” toward the pin (something else that never happens). The ball hits the green and I said, “That has a chance.”

The next thing I know is I can’t see the ball, and I asked, “Where did it go?” My other friend said “In the hole!!!” just like on TV. I didn’t believe him and we got into the carts and drove up near green. Of course, you already know it was in the hole. I retrieved the ball and we did knuckles (or taters if you are from the South). I emailed Cecily so she could leave work to celebrate and her response surprised me. She said she couldn’t come until after work, obviously. Some of my closest friends dropped everything to join me for a celebration, but soon that too was over.

When I got back to the house, I started thinking about what it meant. Was it a big deal? Sure it was. Was it on a bucket list — kind of because it isn’t something you can plan to do. Will it ever happen to me again, maybe. But it would have really been a big deal if I had reached into the hole and pulled out a cure for Parkinson’s.

Another one of Bob's bucket list items. Been there, done that. Though he probably wont' go on a cruise again.
Another one of Bob’s bucket list items. Been there, done that. Though he probably wont’ go on a cruise again.

It doesn’t happen that way. Yes, scientists may stumble on to the cure, but it will come out of hard work that got them to that “aha moment.” So how do we get there?

We raise money. I choose to raise money for The Michael J Fox Foundation, because they have a strategy to do the heavy lifting to get the cure and other therapies through the long and expensive process of bringing drugs to market. We volunteer for trials. You can’t make advances without people putting it on the line to test the new drugs. This includes Cecily being a control for the Fox PPMI study and both of our daughters signing up for Fox Trail Finder

So join us. Be a part of hitting the hole in one that matters. Let’s find a cure for Parkinson’s, together.

TWO SHOES ON AGAIN.

About bobharmon49

Parkinson’s Cure Research Funding, Inc. (“PCRF”) was founded in November, 2010 as a non-profit corporation dedicated to raising money for Parkinson’s disease research and patient support. The corporation’s main fundraising event is an annual golf tournament held in April at the Lake Ashton community in Winter Haven and Lake Wales, Florida. Proceeds from the event have been donated to the Michael J Fox Foundation. Prior to forming PCRF the first golf tournament was held in April 2009 and we raised $12,000. The second tournament in April 2010 raised $27,000. Our next tournament will be held on April 7, 2012. At each of the first two golf outings, 215 players filled the two 18 hole golf courses at Lake Ashton. PCRF was founded by Bob and Cecily Harmon. Bob was diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 2006 and is still very active playing golf and working to help find a cure for PD through fund-raising. He has recently been named to the Southwest Florida Regional Council of the Michael J Fox Foundation. Their mission is to drive ideas about local engagement opportunities to increase Parkinson’s Disease awareness, enhance education efforts and connect with untapped resources to develop the overall expansion of the Fox Foundation in Florida. The Harmon’s facilitate the Lake Ashton Parkinson’s Outreach Group which supports local Parkinson’s patients and their care partners. The group meets on the first Friday of every month at 10am at Lake Ashton and is open to the Parkinson’s community in the general public.

4 thoughts on “A blind hog will find an acorn every once and awhile

  1. Congrats Bob!!! Great story!!! I hope you can play in my foursome, Swing for the Cure January 30, 2014… It’s not a question of if, the question is when, will we pull the cure out of the hole 🙂

Leave a Reply

