A new Parkinson’s chapter and exciting opportunity

Let's get writing.
Let’s get writing.

I am really really excited about the following announcement, and I’d like to share it with you.

As of today, I will be guest blogging for the Michael J Fox Foundation! Wait, what?!

Ever since I’ve been an editor only, I’ve missing writing daily. I have a journal, but I’m bad about using it. Because to me, writing is about telling important stories and making a difference in your community, not just about expressing myself.

On top of that, I’m often nagged by the feeling that I should be doing more in the fight against Parkinson’s. It’s this weird, nagging feelings I have between events and fundraisers. It feels kind of like this:


Back to the point. A few weeks ago, I reached out to the Michael J Fox Foundation saying basically, put me to work. We want more!

After some back and forth and a productive phone call today with Liz, who happens to be Richmond alum, we’re ready to get started.

I’ll be assisting in the Foundation’s goal to get to 30,000 people signed up for Fox Trial Finder. As of now, we need another 10,000 by the end of the year. There are a lot of ways to do that, but the way I can help is by telling your stories.

Stories of people with Parkinson’s, or with connections to Parkinson’s and their experiences with trials, Trial Finder, etc. What have they done? Have they participated? And what motivates them to be a part of finding the cure for Parkinson’s? Is it for a loved one? Their own health?

This is what I do. It’s what I’m good at and passionate about. Telling stories and finding a cure for Parkinson’s. And I am so excited to be a part of this.

What motivates you to be a part of the cure? What makes you want to change the world?

Leave a Reply

