Son picks up dad’s quest to write book about Parkinson’s

I got an email at work the other day from a guy trying to promote a book he and his father did about Parkinson’s. It’s kinda cool that it came to me, though I’m not sure if it was a mass emailing or I was singled out.

Either way, I thought I’d share it with you.

Mike Oltersdorf is a Paul McCartney lookalike who has Parkinson’s. He uses Beatles’ music to inspire others who are struggling. He wanted to write a book in 2008, but his progression made that difficult. That’s when his son, Mike, stepped in.

“These lessons from my dad are all about leaving a legacy, so it’s actually very fitting that I am able to step in and continue to share the lessons my dad has instilled in me and used to inspire many others,” Dan said. (Sound like anyone you know? Cough cough Em, me, and all our Team Fox kiddos.)

Mike says:

“I have Parkinson’s so that’s kind of my broken wings, but everybody here has a broken wings story. It’s one of those things that if we can help each other take our broken wings and learn to fly, we can make a change.”

Here’s a three-minute clip about the book “The New Norm” and information if anyone is interested.

Leave a Reply

